2020 Dean's Distinguished Teaching Awards Announced

Congratulations to associate professor Susan Wesmiller, and associate professor Michael Neft, the 2020 recipients of the Dean's Distinguished Teaching Awards!

Dr. Wesmiller and Dr. Neft were chosen for their use of effective teaching assignments, their time and effort in preparation of their class, and their tremendous creative talents to facilitate the growth of our students. They make such a huge impact on our students' lives, and their colleagues, each and every day.

Dr. Wesmiller, the tenure-track recipient, was lauded for how students, recognize her devotion and excitement towards the teaching profession. A genetics professor, Dr. Wesmiller infuses in her students the power and presence of the "Pitt gene"; indeed, she revamped the undergraduate genetic courses and undergraduate nursing research course to increase students’ interest as well as understanding subject matter.. Students have long recognized her dedication to their education, and to the nursing profession. 

Dr. Neft, the non-appointment-stream recipient, was commended for being an outstanding nurse educator in the field of nurse anesthesia. He has received numerous awards for his excellence in teaching and practice, and creates a strong foundation in nurse anesthesia for his students. Dr. Neft's nomination particularly highlighted how he is a role model of a CRNA actively involved in professional associations to promote advocacy and policy related to CRNA practice.