The University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing shares this information regarding ACT 31 requirements of registered nurses in Pennsylvania. The PA Child Welfare Resource Center, which is housed in the University of Pittsburgh School of Social Work, offers free 2- and 3-contact hour continuing education activities regarding Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse: Mandated and Permissive Reporting in Pennsylvania.
Information regarding initial training and continuing education in Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Requirements in Pennsylvania
All nurses are considered “mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) 23 P.S. § 6322), as amended, that effective January 1, 2015, all nurses applying for issuance of an initial license shall be required to complete 3 hours of Department of Human Services (DHS) [formerly known as the Department of Public Welfare (DPW)], -approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.
Additionally, effective with the first license renewal after January 1, 2015, all licensed nurses applying for the renewal of a license issued by the Board shall be required to complete at least 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of renewal.
The curriculum has been approved by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania’s Department of Human Services (DHS) and therefore satisfies the requirements of ACT 31 for initial licensure and license renewal.
The following link will provide access to the CE activity: www.reportabusepa.pitt.edu
(Select “Registration” to create an account; then, you will be issued a username and password to access and participate in the activity. Upon successful completion of the activity, the system will send a notification of completion to the state licensure board. This process can take up to 10 days)
Any questions please contact:
PA Child Welfare Resource Center at 717-795-9048