Lucille Sowko

Assistant Professor
Acute & Tertiary Care


Dr. Sowko has been involved in undergraduate nursing education for 15 years and is a recognized expert, presenting nationally, on interprofessional education and health promotion in health care. In addition, Dr. Sowko has had 30 years of nursing experience within the medical-surgical clinical setting. She currently is the primary professor for the Transitions into Professional Nursing Practice didactic and clinical course. The focus of the course is related to professional nursing roles, patient care management, and leadership. She has served as a clinical instructor across all undergraduate academic levels, and as a guest lecturer in undergraduate med-surg courses.

Dr. Sowko actively has been involved in developing interprofessional education classes for nursing students in which she has established classes between the law school and the engineering school. Dr. Sowko has co-written a grant, “Team Based design in Biomedical Engineering Education”. She co-created a “Maker’s Space “ room within the School of Nursing for the nursing and biomedical engineering students to develop innovative products that meet unmet healthcare needs of patients and families. Dr. Sowko has been a past winner of thee Excellence in Teaching Award and a recipient of the Innovations in Education Award from the University of Pittsburgh, which focused on communication and positive patient outcomes.

She earned her BSN, master’s degree in nursing and PhD from the University of Pittsburgh. Dr. Sowko also earned a master’s degree in education from Penn State University with a focus of health promotion.

Dr. Sowko actively is involved in professional organizations, including the American Med-surg Nursing Society and Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society of Nursing.


Clinical Emphasis

Interprofessional Education
Health promotion


Dr. Sowko serves as the faculty volunteer advisor with the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) student chapter on the main campus and is on the Academic Integrity Committee.