In Focus: Inspiring Teachers

Widely recognized by colleagues and students for his expertise in anatomy and physiology as well as his creative approach to teaching, Jake Dechant was honored with the Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award in 2012. Chancellor Nordenberg complimented Dr. Dechant saying “as is evident from your excellent student evaluations, you have that rare ability to engage each student in a class and to adapt your teaching style to optimize student learning in the classroom.”

Dechant also won the Dean’s Distinguished Teaching Award in light of his creative approach to teaching a core set of subjects: anatomy and physiology.

Learn more about some of our amazing teaching faculty:

Previous winners of the Dean’s Distinguished Teaching Award

2018 Heeyoung Lee & Donna Nativio
2017 Janice Dorman & Becky Faett
2016  Annette DeVito Dabbs & Brenda Cassidy
2015  Susan Cohen & Dianxu Ren
2014 Linda Dudjak & Jennifer Hagerty
2013 Eileen Chasens & Irene Kane
2012 Elizabeth Schlenk & Lucille Sowko
2011 Sheila Alexander, Alice Blazeck & Gail Wolf
2010 Marie Fioravanti & Margaret Rosenzweig
2009 Heidi Donovan & Patricia Tuite
2008 Judith Erlen, Kathy Magdic & Valerie Swigart
2007 Sandra  Engberg & Mary Beth Happ
2006 Yvette Conley & Marilyn Hravnak
2005 Lisa Marie Bernardo
2004 Jake Dechant & Rose Hoffman
2003 Mary Cothran & Bettina Dixon
2002 Susan Sereika
2001 Judy Kaufmann & Nancy Grove
2000 Denise Charron-Prochownik & Laura Palmer
1999 Suzanne Ketchum
1998 Richard Henker
1997 John O‘Donnell
1996 Mary Kerr
1995 Joyce White
1994 Jacqueline Lamb
1993 Catherine Bender
1992 Susan Albrecht & Linda Robertson
1991 Nancy Obus Siderits & Barbara Spier
1990 Ramona Nelson