See latest updates on Pitt's response to the COVID-19 outbreak

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee Members

The members of the School of Nursing's Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee have a wide range of reasons for joining the committee, but they share a common purpose to improve the school and be advocates for all students, and all members of our community. 

  • Ieesha Barron
  • Mario Browne
  • Brenda Cassidy
  • Maya Clark-Cutaia
  • Paula Davis
  • Jacob Kigo Kariuki
    • Dr. Kariuki is an assistant professor in the department of Health and Community systems. His program of research focuses on primary prevention of heart disease in underserved communities. His interest in the Diversity Committee is informed by his believe in the critical role the committee can play in promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion in the school of Nursing community, and in ensuring that Pitt Nursing graduates are adequately prepared to provide optimal care to diverse patients.

  • Julius Kitutu
  • Tracey Lang
    • I volunteered to be a member of the DEI committee because I felt the need to help identify and eliminate barriers within our diverse community within the School of Nursing at Pitt. As we see our student, staff, and faculty population become more diverse, it is important that everyone feels comfortable and welcome.  By respecting and valuing our differences, we can assure that all in our community feel included.
  • Arianna Meolo
  • Laurel Miner
    • I wanted to be a part of the DEI Committee because I want to learn more about diverse perspectives and define actionable items that can be applied within the School of Nursing allowing us to be agents of change to ensure that all are treated fairly.
  • Jonna Morris
  • Marci Lee Nilsen
  • Sabella Prime (BSN '23)
    • I joined the diversity committee to assist Pitt Nursing in becoming a more culturally sensitive community where everyone is educated with the knowledge to engaged in candid discourse around social and health inequities.
  • Valerie Sabo
    • I am the nurse anesthesia program secretary for the Department of Nurse Anesthesia.  With our program having such a diverse group of students, I felt that joining the DEI committee would be a way for me to better understand the real difficulties that some students face, and hopefully help the DEI Committee find ways to make a positive impact in everyone’s journey at the SON.