Current Newsletter

Pitt Nursing Alumni Continue to Demonstrate Excellence

Congratulations to our alumni and faculty who recently were recognized by Pittsburgh Magazine as the recipients of the 2017 Excellence in Nursing Awards.

  • Academic: John O’Donnell (MSN ’91), professor and chair, Department of Nurse Anesthesia, University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing
  • Leadership: Tami Minnier (BSN ’84, MSN ’85), chief quality officer, UPMC

In addition to the award recipients, several alumni and faculty also were named as honorable mentions in the following categories.


  • Kirstyn Kameg (BSN ’98, MSN ’00), professor and coordinator, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Program, Robert Morris University
  • Ann Mitchell, professor, University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing
  • Khlood Salman (MSN ’86), associate professor, Duquesne University
  • Debra Wolf (PhD ’07), associate professor of nursing and health care informatics, and coordinator, Master of Science in Health Care Informatics program, Chatham University
  • Lore Wright (BSN ’87, MSN ’93), professor, Community College of Allegheny County

Advanced Practitioner

  • Betsy George (MSN ’83, PhD ’99), clinical nurse specialist, UPMC Presbyterian
  • Kathleen Godfrey (BSN ’80, MSN ‘86, MSN ’99, DNP ’11), nurse practitioner, Magee-Womens Hospital of UPMC, and assistant professor, University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing


  • Mary Burgunder (BSN ’83), nurse manager, UPMC Home Health



Former Faculty Named to University of Kentucky College of Nursing Hall of Fame

Gail Wolf was the coordinator of the former Nursing Leadership program (now Health Systems Executive Leadership), and is a retired professor, retiring from the School of Nursing in 2015.  Prior to her appointment at the School of Nursing, she was the chief nursing officer at UPMC.

Wolf earned her bachelor’s degree in nursing from West Virginia University, her master’s degree from the University of Kentucky, and her PhD from Indiana University. She was one of five honorees who were recognized in November. The University of Kentucky College of Nursing Hall of Fame was started in 2006 to recognize graduates and their contributions to the nursing profession.


Faculty Elected to National Organization

Fennimore will become president-elect effective January 1, 2018. Fennimore is the first elected president under ONS’ new bylaw changes.  According to ONS, those changes allowed the ONS Board of Directors to select candidates from member-elected directors-at-large to fill officer roles on the ONS board.

Fennimore is a professor in the School of Nursing’s Health Systems Executive Leadership program. She has held numerous leadership positions throughout her career, including director of nursing at UPMC Presbyterian, director of organizational development, nursing education, and research at UPMC Presbyterian, and then the director of clinical programs for UPMC Health Plan.